Zonta Foothills Awarded the 2017 District 12 Advocacy Award

Each year Zonta District 12 gives an award to a club judged to have done the best Advocacy work over the past year. On Saturday, September 23 in Greeley, Zonta Foothills Club of Boulder County was named the 2016-17 winner.

When announcing our Award  Denise Parrish, D12 Advocacy Chair, highlighted some things that set us apart.

“The District Advocacy Award recipient is the Zonta Foothills Club of Boulder County. . .  Let’s look at the work of the Zonta Foothills Club of Boulder County.  First, it has really taken to heart the concept of collaboration with like-minded organizations. These include local high schools, community colleges, the university, shelters, the National Guard, other Zonta clubs, and other women’s groups. Second, it has focused on prevention of violence against women, including training programs —  not only awareness of the problems.  And third, its work is being done collectively by the Zonta Club, Z Club and Golden Z Club without the usual distinctions relative to the work of the three clubs. The generational intermingling, mentoring, and cooperative efforts are impressive. The work has focused on sexual assault with projects related to: developing a culture of respect, offering bystander training, offering information on help available to victims, and providing information about the after effects of sexual assault. Congratulations to the Zonta Foothills Club of Boulder County. ”

Congratulations to our members who worked hard to promote A Culture of Respect and Zonta Says NO. A significant factor in our selection was the inclusion of our Boulder High School Pantherz Z Club and our Flatirons Golden Z Club, college students at University of Colorado Boulder and Front Range Community College and high school athletes at Fairview High School (Boulder, Colorado) and Boulder High School. Also important was the visibility that our work had in the community.

Kay Meyer, Ann Hodgson, Michelle Medal and Sara Gallespie were on hand to accept the award for the club.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!